Subscribe to newsletter

Wine Regions


A small region located in a valley, at high altitude, Northeast of Dão region, bordered by the Douro region.

The region covers a vineyard area of 3000 hectares, stretching over the municipalities of Lamego, Tarouca, Moimenta da Beira, Armamar, Tabuaço, São João da Pesqueira, Sernancelhe and Penedono.
The climate has a large continental influence, with hot and dry summers, due to the altitude, and long cold winters. The vineyards of this region are planted on sand clay granite, light soils, with low capacity of water retention and are located between the 500 and the 800 meters of altitude. The altitude of the vineyards, together with the characteristics of the moderately rich soils, allow grapes to have a balanced ripening.

The predominant grape varieties are the white, among them, the Malvasia Fina, Cerceal, Gouveio and Chardonnay, and regarding the red are the Touriga Francesa, Tinta Barroca, Touriga Nacional, Tinta Roriz and Pinot Noir.

The Távora-Varosa region is specially oriented towards the production of sparkling wines. This production dates back to the 17th century, year 1678, by the Cister monks. In 1989, it became the first national wine region to be demarcated for the production of PDO sparkling wine.

The sparkling wines made in the region, both red and white, have a fine and persistent bubble and are generally dry (Brut). In addition to the sparkling wines, fresh white wines and smooth red wines are also produced.
Wine Tourism
Wine Tourism
The Távora-Varosa region, located at the bottom of Nave mountain hillsides, between Paiva and Távora rivers, is a noble and rich region. It presents signs of human occupation since the protohistory and a vast Cistercian heritage, such as the Monastery of S. João de Tarouca, one of the most beautiful models of this art and one of the first in the Iberian Peninsula, built in the 12th century, by the Cister Monks, and where these worked the land and cultivated the vineyards.
The Route of the Cistercian Vineyards covers and merges with the Távora-Varosa Demarcated Region. In the Cistercian land, name which derives from the ancient Religious Order which was set up in the region, there are astonishing landscapes and a historical architecture to discover. There are also festivities and popular festivals, where you can taste some of the delicacies of this region. In Varosa, where the Cister Monks chose to build their temples many centuries ago, you can still observe today some of the most important treasures and jewellery of the national heritage. The route comprises a wide offer of cultural and historical experiences. In Lamego, you must visit the Cathedral with its 686 steps of the staircase of Sanctuary of Nossa Senhora dos Remédios, where the view over the city is magnificent. In Tarouca, the classified as National Monument, the Monastery of S. João de Tarouca, makes the monks' dynamic spirit prevail, those who early moulded the region to their image, working the land, cultivating the vineyards instilling norms and traditions which have lasted until today. Further to the south, in Lapa mountain, there is one of the most ancient Portuguese sanctuaries, the Senhora da Lapa Chapel, built in the 17th century by the Jesuits, and nearby, the Monastery of Nossa Senhora da Assunção de Tabosa, of the Cistercian nuns.
  • Portugal By Wine - Wine Tourism in Portugal
Reference currency
The prices shown are merely informative and do not link to Portugal By Wine